International Day of People with Disability; Lilley School Awards

Ms WELLS (Lilley) (10:42): Happy International Day of People with Disability. It has looked likely for some time that we parliamentarians will be trapped here in Canberra for the day itself, so I took the opportunity a few weeks ago to visit with parents at My Time Geebung. My Time is a community of parents who are based out of Geebung Special School, and it is a place for parents and carers of children with a disability to socialise, to get advice and to support each other. Thank you to Vanessa and Skye, who introduced me to the group in the first place and who I mentioned in my first speech in parliament. Thank you to the group, who so willingly gave me insights into their lives and some of the joys and challenges that they face as they care for children with disability. I look forward to working with you next year to action what we discussed and to work and advocate on your behalf as your federal representative.

It is awards season in Queensland. I have spent the last few weeks attending school graduations and awards ceremonies at some of the 43 state, private, religious and independent schools across my electorate. My South Australian husband tells me that speech nights and awards seasons are not something that occur too much in other parts of the country. But in Queensland it is a very big deal. I have been to many, and I wanted to take this opportunity to recognise some of the students in Lilley who have served their community and excelled in the fields of sport, trade, skills, arts and academia this year.

From the north of my electorate, Jarvis Poppleton won the Top Year 11 Student in Academia at Sandgate District State High School. At St Joseph's Nudgee College in Boondall, Leo De Clara won the Year 10 award for his contribution to social justice and community service, and Noah McFadyen, Reesjan Pasitoa and Harrison Vella won the Excellence in Sport award for reaching national representation in a GPS sport.

Moving over to St Pats in Shorncliffe, Jonah Le Bherz won the inaugural Anika Wells MP Award for Excellence in Music Extension—heights I never reached. Down at Mount Alvernia College in Kedron, Hannah Lowe was awarded the Clare School Community Service Award for Year 9 and Year 10 students. Just down the road at Padua College in Kedron, Thomas White and Cameron Plackett won the Brother Clem Kain Award for Dedication and Fellowship; Lincoln Dalton and Damon Humphrys won the Peter Stark Award for School Spirit; and Nate Bodel and Oscar Murphy won the Father Odoric Award for Christian Leadership. Well done, boys.

At Aspley State School I was honoured to sponsor the Award for Excellence which was awarded to Brendan Mitchell. Brendan, you should be very proud of this achievement. At Earnshaw State College in Banyo, Jemma Green was the dux of the college for 2019. I am sure that Jemma has a very bright future and I'm excited to see what it holds for her. At St Dympna's primary school in Aspley, Anvi Tanwar and Eden Tokuma were awarded the Anika Wells MP Community Service Award. To all these wonderful students, congratulations and have a very well-deserved break.